My Life On The Couch

My first contach with theraphy was Speech Theraphy. There is a debate to this date if I needed it. I don’t know it was cool getting payday candy bars with my Mom and riding the el to Northwestern. Or on the front of my brothers bike. That was cool, riding past the boulders that line Sheridan Road. Yeah, I don’t know if they learned anything about me or me them. AGE 7

The first time I was taken to a therapist was after a very short live life in crime. The office was downtown, el rides in the winter. Dr. Vasquez was the pill pusher I saw. He I can say with complete confidence was a crazier than Gay Republican. The patient would sit in a chair across from the good doctor. Behind the patient was a 3X life size painting of the good doctor sitting in the same cross legged fashion. He was one of those theraphists who does not say anything, but the absolute most obvious things. His answer was pills. First generation anti-depressents who me and my buddies figured out during lunch period were alot of fun to take in big quanities. Needless to say he was far less than effective. Not even being on time to due his rounds at the state hospital. People wait for him and he doesn’t show or if he does its so late nobody can talk to them. Sporadically
AGES 7-17

Next therapist was Georgette L. I saw her at Evanston Hospital. She was very very good. When I saw her I was 21, fighting, drinking, and debauchery. I would come into see her after a weekend, usually beat up. Face bruised and bloodied a couple of times. She was the first one I can say who connected me with a term Post Traumatic Stress Symdrone. She would give me journal articles connecting Viet Nam Vets to kids who suffered abuse. The learning has changed and there is a distinction between the two. She was good. AGE 20-21

There was the therapist at Northeastern I saw. He did well as much as he could. I was married and in the begining throws of my divource. He tried to conduct couples counseling, did not go well. My ex blew up and that was it. A bad situation just got worst. Seeing him was memorable because I got Union approval to cross the line for theraphy, the rest of the time I walked the line with the teachers. AGE 36

Than I saw a Gay therapist who worked with me as I got fired, and than when I got fired, I also got fired from his care. Haa haa He did help me think about dating in a way that was differant than I had thought about. He had a little office in the building where my stepfather once lived.

When I recieve theraphy I imagine in some ways I am a great patient. I usually pick up where I left off. I have spent hours on the couch. I can say without a doubt, that I had benifited from this expeiance. As I think about begining again, I have to remember to be open.

Leave a Reply

