For March 29th- Ran

Year of Films

An incident that keeps managing to repeat itself is that I seem to never read the run times for movies that I set on my schedule.  For example, I realized halfway into Ran that the movie was 2 hours and 42 minutes long.  This was not a well-received actualization, but I knew that I had to finish the film.

As far as epic-style films go, I have seen several. Most were headed by Westerners, with Western-based production companies.  Not many were hybrid efforts between European financing and Asian talent, telling a story with local flair, even if it heavily references a Shakespearean play.

Ran is King Lear in late feudal Japan.

Story/Writing: 1.5/2

As I mentioned, it is a little long.  But the story is truly epic, and the end is definitely worth every minute of watching.

Acting: 2/2

The characters are varied and all very dimensional.  To watch them…

View original post 138 more words

Leave a Reply

